Music, water and bananas – maybe it DOES take a village…

You forgot how great it is to have a nice neighborhood community.  Maybe they aren’t exactly your age, maybe you have different interests, but there’s a big advantage – THEY ARE THERE – right next door, two or three houses away – at the end of the block, and they have other advantages.

This morning I took my twin grandchildren for a long walk, along with my two beagles, and we were hot and tired but there was my neighbor when we got back and her 14-year old son called us and invited us all to their yard.

They had water, and bananas for the twins, and water for the beagles (and their own 2 dogs), and we started talking about music and they asked me to go get my guitar, and pretty soon, we were playing music and MORE neighbors heard the music and came over and pretty soon, it was only 10:30 am and we were having a party!

One of teenagers brought out her Halloween costume to show us.  Two of the teenagers friends showed up.  One of the men got out his camera and took pictures of all of singing Woody Guthrie’s Roll On Columbia, and Dylan’s Blowing in the Wind and talking.  It was great.

I had forgotten how much fun that is.  I forget how anxiety-reducing it is to visit with neighbors and share information and help each other, with just little things – like music, water and bananas.

Another residual benefit – both twins and both beagles are all sound asleep – and I think they will be out for at least two hours!!  Giving me time to check in with you, say hi to one of your neighbors today!

About GetHealthy&Happier

I'm your basic California health nut, aging baby boomer, relegated to south Florida, taking my California values with me including vegetarian-vegan lifestyle; animal rights advocate; beagle owner; Edgar Cayce fan; fresh juice fanatic; lost 75 pounds in the last 2 years; water aerobics/water yoga exerciser; musician, dancer, your basic happy person -- just healthier!
This entry was posted in Animals, Beagles, Dogs, Healthy, Healthy Living, New Age, Pets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment