What I Love About Sweet Potatoes (almost everything)

I had sweet potatoes and roasted asparagus for dinner last night.

One fitness trainer recommended eating two sweet potatoes a day, which is no problem for me.   Sweet potatoes are full to antioxidants, which you can see from their bright orange interiors.

My mother used to make baked sweet potatoes all the time when I was little.  And now I love them, and even the beagles love eating roasted sweet potatoes.

Did you know you can put them on the grill?  Just wash your whole sweet potato (or yam) and then slice it into big circles and put them right on the grill and brush with olive oil.  They are so sweet and delicious cooked like that.

Of course, I also like them both steamed and mashed, mashed with fresh ginger, and cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice!  And made into soup, or PIE!

I had them in Japan, as tempura, and although I’m off the fried stuff now, the sweet potato slices in the tempura batter are amazing.  Their sweet taste comes out and really lights up the meal.

PLUS – sweet potatoes are incredibly cheap — and it’s easy to find organic sweet potatoes at whole foods stores across the country.  AND THEY HAVE NO FAT!

I also roast a few extra sweet potatoes so I can dice them and eat them cold in a salad, or just drizzled with a nice vinegarette!!   Try one, or two… or three….

About GetHealthy&Happier

I'm your basic California health nut, aging baby boomer, relegated to south Florida, taking my California values with me including vegetarian-vegan lifestyle; animal rights advocate; beagle owner; Edgar Cayce fan; fresh juice fanatic; lost 75 pounds in the last 2 years; water aerobics/water yoga exerciser; musician, dancer, your basic happy person -- just healthier!
This entry was posted in Healthy Living, Love Your Vegetables, Natural Foods, Nutrition, Sweet Potatoes, Vegetarian Recipes, Whole Foods and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment